top of page

Rock, pop and folk in one song

It's probably highly cliche to say I had always grown up around music, but in reality that is the truth. My nan was a semi-professional Jazz saxophonist and my grandad was the organist for Norwich cathedral. So I suppose if you're looking for my earliest musical influences it would have to be some weird fusion of jazz saxophone and church organ which although an unusual mix I would say it opened my mind to all sorts of music. And ultimately this was the most influential in developing my sound as you can't be influenced by something unless you know it exists.


As a child, my parents used to put me to bed to the scissor sisters and I'm pretty sure by age 4 I knew all the lyrics to take your mamma out tonight which I'm pretty sure isn't appropriate really but it definitely had an influence. It was probably the launch pad for my guilty pleasure love of 80s music you just can't beat it. I love it for the pure experimentation everything was new, then recording technology was changing so fast and it's that level of experimentation I love. it's like a saying my mum used to use about food she'd say you do have to try it but you don't have to like it and that's a sentiment I take with me in life minus skydiving I would like to try everything once.


If you asked me today who my musical influences are, I can assure you they would be just as eclectic. A dodgy acoustic performance with a rock band in year 6 introduced me to Linkin Park. I'm sure we did the song absolutely no justice,but it was enough to spark my love for them. It wasn't all about making a big noise although in 10-year-old me's life that was definitely a factor, but it was more a focus on the lyrics. they have an incredible way of crafting words that are so personal to them but also relatable to others, and I very much aspire to one day be able to replicate that in my music.


My love for the lyrical aspects of songs has never really changed I really admire someone who can take an event and turn it into a piece of art particularly something with such vivid imagery you can fully relate because you feel like you are really there. My love for Linkin Park has never faded its just been joined by Louis Tomlinson, Harry Styles, Grace Petrie and Ed Sheeran.


Who is your favorite songwriter? let me know who I should check out in the comments below

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page